





May 9, 2024

The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas, Secretary Department of Homeland Security Washington, D.C. 20528

Dear Secretary Mayorkas:

As you are aware, the National Emergency Management Association, International Association of Emergency Managers, and Big City Emergency Managers remain troubled by the reductions in grant funding during the FY24 appropriations process.

Particularly, the Emergency Management Performance Grant (EMPG), State Homeland Security Program (SHSP), Urban Area Security Initiative (UASI), and Non-Profit Security Grant Program (NSGP) experienced a \$179.5 million total reduction. This type of impact directly affects our ability to build and sustain a nationwide emergency management system and adequately assist in national preparedness efforts. The funding reductions to EMPG are of highest concern. As emergency managers, in addition to the 60 federal disaster declarations in FY23, we managed at least 27,229 events at the state and local level without federal assistance. This is due in large part to the success of the EMPG program and 50/50 match requirement.

Over the coming months, we understand the Department will work through the annual reprogramming process with Congressional Appropriators. As you build your reprogramming request, we urge you to utilize all statutory authorities and flexibilities to address this \$179.5 million shortfall in grant funding. Furthermore, we remain aware of the dire situation regarding the Disaster Relief Fund and the need for supplemental funding this summer. We hope you and Administrator Criswell of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) can act as our advocates in that process and ensure the Administration includes the shortfalls in grant funding into the supplemental request.

As always, we stand ready to assist you in both these efforts. State and local emergency managers across the nation are resilient but call upon you for strong leadership during these difficult budgetary times.

ustin Kates

Sincerely,

Russell J. Strickland

Tenerally Sturland

President, NEMA President, IAEM-USA

Mark Sloan

Board Chair, BCEM